Skip to content

Before & After: The Bedroom

July 15, 2013

When we moved into this house just over a year ago, I immediately decided there were a few rooms that needed big makeovers (bathroom & kitchen) and a few that just needed a bit of paint and a few tweaks.  The bedroom was is pretty good shape, I could think of some major changes to make, but none that are necessary to make it a nice, livable space. We have slowly been making little changes here and there to change it into what we want.

Here are pictures of the room before we moved in:

before & after bedroom

before & after bedroom

before & after bedroom

John wanted a strong color for the room and was particularly interested in a nice, deep peacock for the walls.  I was all for it and so I set to work to find the right shade. I settled on Benjamin Moore’s Salzburg Blue and John (as a birthday gift) set to work painting the room.  Here is what it looks like now:

before & after bedroom

before & after bedroom

before & after bedroom

before & after bedroom

before & after bedroom

There are still many things to do.  The bed is just a box spring and mattress and, right now, the box spring is exposed.  I plan to get a fitted sheet to cover it, as soon as I find the right color, whatever that might be.  I also want to get some curtains, I am thinking of a green or golden velvet or just white,  I will know when I see them (and cost will factor very heavily into the decision).  The room also needs more art and a redistribution of what is already on the walls.

We did recently purchased a light to replace this one, which we have hated since day one:

ceiling light

The closet doors are mirrored, which isn’t exactly great from a design perspective, but they sure are handy and I have no plans to change them yet.

mirrored closet doors

I will post more pictures in the fall, when I change my bedding for the colder months, hopefully, by then, I will have even more updates to show you.
If you have any ideas for this space, feel free to share! :)

9 Comments leave one →
  1. July 15, 2013 4:21 pm

    I love bold wall color! This is beautiful.

  2. Pete & Mom permalink
    July 15, 2013 4:38 pm

    We like it! Everything looks great. Have fun putting in the final touches.

  3. corinne permalink
    July 16, 2013 1:57 am

    Super job, the colour is beautiful. Your bedding is lovely too – where is it from? I think any if those colours for the curtains would look ace but I like gold so that would be my choice! Obviously like you say, its what you can find and price. I’m sure any you get will go nicely.
    Also look at you pretty lady :) your hair looks really long or is it just an illusion? x

    • July 16, 2013 7:16 am

      Thank you dear! Gold was the color I was leaning toward, so thanks for the confirmations ;). Now I just have to find something! My hair is really long right now. It wasn’t really intentional, I just have been too lazy to get a hair cut.

    • July 16, 2013 4:55 pm

      oh & the bedding was something I inherited from my mom and she inherited it from the gentleman she used to work for, Walter. I love it!

  4. July 16, 2013 3:24 am

    Love it!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 397 other followers

