Skip to content

Elements of Baby Schofield’s Nursery

December 19, 2013

Nearly as soon as I found out I was pregnant I started planning the nursery.  I knew I wasn’t going to wait until I found out if we were having a boy or a girl, instead I would pick things that would work for either, which is more my style anyway.  But, where does one start?  There are so many options!  The first controlling factor was the budget, which is really almost as tiny as the baby himself (at conception).  I also knew I wanted an area rug to cover some of the hardwood floors in the room and it isn’t easy to find an inexpensive rug that is also attractive.  I looked around on Pinterest and on discount sites and ebay, but came up short (of cash mostly).

And then I saw this one at Ikea and ideas started forming in my head:

ikea rug

That is where it all started. From there I have picked a few new things, a few old things and a few borrowed. Here are the rest of the elements (so far):

20131219-152030.jpg

I had a Jenny Lind crib picked out and then my parents found this one, for $15!! My dad painted it for us and now it is perfect.

20131219-152255.jpg

This is the rocking chair myself and my siblings were rocked in as babies and now I get to rock my own baby in it. And, it is comfortable, I am sitting in it right now.

20131219-152619.jpg

This blanket was one of my baby blankets and it just happened to fit perfectly into the room. I have always loved it and I hope little baby Schofield will too.

20131219-152954.jpg

For use as clothing storage and changing table I nicked this dresser from John. My dad refinished it for use years ago, after pulling it out of a collapsed barn.

20131219-153207.jpg

Here is some of the art work that will be hanging on the walls. My favorite is the piece on the far right, done by my friend Corinne Lee-Cooke.

20131219-153421.jpg

A bright red door.

agen-childrens-armchair__10995_PE083194_S4

A chair for baby to read in, when he is older (a stuffed animal holder for now).

20131219-153516.jpg

20131219-153523.jpg

And plenty of books!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Mom & Pete permalink
    December 20, 2013 5:23 am

    We love all the perfect pieces of décor!! Fun & Fresh.

    Love, Mom & Pete

  2. Kayla permalink
    December 20, 2013 6:41 pm

    Yesssss. Can’t wait to see the completed project! Baby Scho is going to LOVE it!

    • December 20, 2013 6:49 pm

      I think he will too :). I am excited to finish it, just have a few more elements to find and add.

  3. Aubrey permalink
    December 22, 2013 2:20 pm

    I love it!

  4. Kelly permalink
    June 7, 2014 5:47 pm

    Are there plastic “slide” pieces on the crib? If so what type of paint was used for those?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 394 other followers

