Skip to content

My Kind of Hot!

July 29, 2010

I am a believer in limiting one’s sugar intake.  After all, it wasn’t until recently (in the grand scheme of things) that sugar was so available to us.  Our bodies evolved to treat sugar as a rarity, storing it away for less abundant times. We don’t need a whole lot of it (or any of it really), but we certainly crave it.  And here we experience the wide gap between believing and doing. I love sweeties and there is very little that can keep me from eating every sweet thing in sight.  So, the only solution for me, is to not have them in sight.   However, there is one item I am always happy to have around:

Ginger People Ginger Chews

Ginger People Original Ginger Chews

Whenever I am at Trader Joe’s I have to buy several bags of these.  I do this in order to run a series of scientific experiments (of course).  How long will these bags of candy last?  If I hide handfuls of them in random places, will I forget where they are?  If I do forget, how long until I remember? If I were to write up my findings, the answers to these questions would go something like this:  not long, probably not, not long at all.  Somewhere along the line I convinced myself that because these candies are made with ginger, they are healthy.  Ginger can help an upset stomach.  If you have a bit of nausea, just eat some candy, makes sense, no? It does to me, so I am going to stick with this line of thought until someone can prove me wrong.

Favorite Sweetie?  Anyone?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Mandi permalink
    August 1, 2010 9:00 am

    Right now I am emjoying York Peppermint Patties that I keep in the refridge. Perfect treat on a hot summer’s evening.

  2. August 1, 2010 10:07 pm

    Ginger also helps loneliness, sexual frustration, germs, general annoyance, PMS and pregnancy….. PReTTY AWESOME!

    🙂 I love these candies so much now, thanks to you. Also, I do not think I have ever said “candies” until now… thanks for broadening my culinary vocabulary.

  3. August 2, 2010 6:48 am

    I KNEW IT!!! I am going to be so healthy. 🙂
    And, you are welcome, delicious candies.

Leave a Reply

