Skip to content

The Open Road

August 29, 2010

I really do love the open road, traveling to places of interest or to no place in particular.  It’s an adventure, a time I associate with beautiful scenery, good music and captive company. However, ever since I started wrestling with anxiety, it hasn’t always been enjoyable.  The fear creeps up and the chemicals start racing through me and I have to work hard not to panic.  And, I hate it.  I absolutely hate the anxiety that destroys what should be a fun outing, an exciting event.  For this reason, I have found ways to make it better.  One of the most affective coping mechanisms I have come up with is photography, taking pictures of the scenery that surrounds us as we drive (don’t worry, I’m not the one driving).  It takes my mind off of the fear and directs my thoughts to more positive things.  Even these days, when the anxiety I used to feel is reduced to nearly normal levels, I still love taking photos while we drive.  It’s a habit I will keep, not because I get the best photos out of it, but because it makes me look with new eyes at everything I see around me.

rain on the road

it's just a bit of rain

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 29, 2010 1:09 pm

    Yah…I had to visit a therapist in high school a couple of times because of anxiety attacks and the like…not fun. My little way of getting out of it is music…put together a playlist I love, and when I feel myself getting anxious, I just play it and let the world dissolve around me.

    Lovely picture by the way.

  2. August 29, 2010 1:29 pm

    It’s the pits isn’t it Kelly? I agree, music is great. Singing along to music really helps me too, I think singing helps regulate the oxygen or something…science. 🙂

Leave a Reply

