Skip to content

Woodland Park Zoo, Seattle

January 28, 2011

If there is one thing my friends know about me, it’s that I love the zoo. I will never, ever turn down a trip there and I  love taking others along.  As long as I live in Seattle I plan to be a member at the Woodland Park Zoo.  I had the privilege of spending the day there yesterday with my lovely sister-in-law Courtney and my beautiful baby niece Ruby.  The day was perfect, as far as I’m concerned, cloudy, foggy and rainless, a slight chill, but not too cold for a brisk walk.  The light was also spectacular for taking a few photos.  The thing about our zoo here in Seattle is that it has extremely gorgeous, cute, fun creatures from all over the world but it also has some of the most beautiful landscaping you will find anywhere.  It is one of the main reasons I love going there.

Here is a sampling of the photos I took of the flora, fauna and wildlife (I will be posting more on my flickr account later)

penguins woodland park zoo

penguin pals

penguins woodland park zoo

adults and babies

woodland park zoo seattle

fog

woodland park zoo seattle

picnic: bring your own food

woodland park zoo seattle

blossoms in january

woodland park zoo colobus monkey

Colobus Monkey Island (can you find their lush and glorious tails?)

woodland park zoo colobus monkeys

Up-Close at the Colobus Monkey enclosure

woodland park zoo gorillas

Gorillas have very pink mouths!

woodland park zoo gorillas

Sleepy Napping Gorilla, such a familiar face.

woodland park zoo tiger

Tiger, those eyes, the eyes of a hunter!

woodland park zoo snow berries

Snow berries, perfect little puffs of white!

woodland park zoo meerkats

Meerkats! Cute, but the damn things wouldn't hold still.

woodland park zoo tapir

Tapir. I'm pretty happy he kept his man junk himself this time.

woodland park zoo elephant

Happy Elephant.

woodland park zoo grizzly bear

the grizzly bears were busy.

Next came my absolute favorite area, the farm!  And guess what?  We’re going to save those photos for tomorrow!  Join me again for some truly adorable farm animals.

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 30, 2011 10:14 am

    that’s some crazy tail you got there, mr. colobus.

Leave a Reply

