Skip to content

Woodland Park Zoo: The Farm

January 30, 2011

Ok, I lied.  I did not put these pictures up yesterday. Instead I was lazy and self-indulgent and watched old episodes of Doctor Who.  I loved every minute of it, Doctor Who gives me warm fuzzies. And speaking of warm fuzzies….(nice segue right?)

I have farm animals all over my house, not real ones (I wish) but stuffed sheep, wooden pigs, plastic chickens and creamers in the shape of cows.  One of these days I will share those with you, and you will see that it is an obsession.  For now witness my favorite part of the Woodland Park Zoo, the farm.  It’s not the most glamorous section, there are no mysterious wild creatures from distant wild lands, but they aren’t all your average farm animals either.  Guess what the cows are called?  Panda Miniature Cattle, which basically look like a Belted Galloway with short legs.

And then there are the sheep and goats:

woodland park zoo seattle

Now let’s take a closer look at all our farm friends.

woodland park zoo seattle

head down the path to the farm

woodland park zoo seattle cow

the attitude

woodland park zoo seattle cow

a log for making a fire perhaps?

woodland park zoo seattle sheep

thanks for the photo-op sheep

woodland park zoo seattle sheep

look how good sheep are at resting!

woodland park zoo seattle goats

rowdy!

woodland park zoo seattle goat

this little guy was all alone...

woodland park zoo seattle goats

...until this other very little goat joined him

I wouldn’t want to forget the chickens! They were in their outdoor area pecking and clucking.

woodland park zoo seattle chickens

love their colors

woodland park zoo seattle chicken

i'm pretty sure this one wanted me to hold her 😉

And there is one more wild beast you really must see (seen here being fed because she was tired and hungry):

woodland park zoo seattle

Ruby the Duckling, a very rare sighting.

And that is that.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. LivPaige permalink
    January 30, 2011 12:52 pm

    Great pics! I love the first sheep pic in particular = perfect posing. Also, I think Ruby is the cutest chicken I’ve ever seen…. Just so you know, your pics of the zoo have enticed JB into wanting to check it out!

  2. mary permalink
    January 30, 2011 4:03 pm

    excellent again Joani.

  3. JohnnyRoger permalink
    January 30, 2011 10:14 pm

    Those dwarf cows are so humble and juicy. They are real.

  4. January 31, 2011 12:02 am

    I love your pic of the entrance path, “now, let’s go see the animals.” love it!

    I felt like I was playing “Myst” (if you’ve ever heard of that game).

  5. Courtney permalink
    February 15, 2011 9:47 pm

    Just now saw these. Love all the pic’s, but of course I’m quite partial to liking the last one the best!

Leave a Reply

