Skip to content

A Simple Before and After: Adding Plant Life

March 31, 2011

Sometimes the simplest changes can still make a profound difference to how one feels in a living space.  For a long time now I have been wanting to get some house plants.  My lone cactus was looking a bit pathetic sitting there day after day.  And so, I did it, I went to the nursery and picked out some lovely house plants. We do not get an immense amount of light in our little basement apartment, so I mostly chose ferns for their ability to thrive without full sun. Four of the plants have joined my cactus is our living room window.

Witness the transformation!

Berfore:

Notice the Cactus on the far left (and The Doctor, front and center)

after:

l-r: Pteris Fern, Button Fern, Maidenhair Fern, 'Rosy' Maidenhair Fern

My next project is the replant them into slightly bigger pots so that they can grow and thrive.  They have been in my care for about a month now and are still happy and healthy, I must admit, this is miraculous.  I am not the best with indoor plants, but I am determined! Let’s hope I won’t be doing a follow up post about how to kill indoor plants.

Wish me luck friends!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 31, 2011 8:21 am

    I love plants. Green. It’s about to be bountiful here, spring is a-coming!!

    ps. I like the little guy on top of the jar, lovely touch.

    • March 31, 2011 1:07 pm

      That little guy is Doctor Who, which, if you haven’t seen it, I would highly recommend 🙂

Leave a Reply

