Skip to content

Interiors: Elements Of My Perfect Kitchen

April 25, 2011

When I can’t fall asleep, I decorate in my head, over time I have amassed a goodly number of thoughts and images pertaining to how I want my perfect kitchen to look.  Some of my choices have to do with the function of the kitchen, but many more have to do with how the kitchen looks and feels.

Let’s start some of the basics:

oak cabinets

oak done right

I will be the first to admit that oak cabinets can go horribly wrong, but when done in the right style, like these here, there is nothing better.  Add glass to the upper cabinets, seamlessly built in appliances with fantastic hardware, and subway tile and, voila, you have a classic, old-world feel.

I might add more glass cabinets.

glass kitchen cabinets

And an herringbone floor, in wood:

herringbone wood floor

or even stone:

Some carrara marble counter tops (with a butcher block table in the center, of course)

carrara marble kitchen

kitchen table

I’ll definitely need a range cooker in black or maybe green.

black range cookergreen range cooker

a spacious pantry

pantry

and a nice corner fireplace for warmth all around

corner fireplace

Is that asking too much?

Wait, there is more! Next up, we are going to kit this kitchen out!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. LivPaige permalink
    April 25, 2011 5:57 pm

    Sigh, this was a nice walk through your mind’s eye. I agree with all of your options!!!

    • April 25, 2011 7:52 pm

      So glad you agree! Our kitchen in the new place isn’t quite up to these standards. It is more of a classic in a 1970’s way 🙂

Leave a Reply

