Skip to content

Our Move: Packing

April 27, 2011

In just a few days we will be moving to a new apartment. It’s been 4.5 years since we last moved and, in that time, I have forgotten just how much work it is.  Here are some photos of the process.  (Taken with my, first ever, new to me, iPhone – we are a little late to the game.)

I started with books since they are straight forward.  I thought I would easily be able to fit all of our books in neat stacks on the kitchen table, but this is what it looked like about two-thirds of the way through the process:

stacks of books

I packed a few boxes and finished stacking all of our beautiful books, leaving empty shelves:

bookshelf

bookshelf and cordelia

I made sure to keep one book out the boxes, my next read for when I finish “Notes From A Small Island” by Bill Bryson

Swallows and Amazons: Swallowdale

Eventually, most of the books were packed:

packing

All of this moving and stacking made Cordelia worry a bit:

cordelia the pomeranian dog

cordelia the pomeranian dog

I assured her we would not leave her behind.

My next task was assembling all of our tchotchkes in one place.  I’m just getting started…

shelves

The boxes are stacking up, which makes it hard to maneuver around our kitchen, but it is a welcome sign of progress and new beginnings.

More on the move and our new place coming soon!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 28, 2011 5:44 am

    I love Bill Bryson. And the second picture of Cordelia looking worried really captures her fear. ; )

    • April 28, 2011 7:42 am

      I too love Bill Bryson Kelly! And yes, I agree, the wall-eyed picture of Cordelia really captured her mood.

  2. April 28, 2011 5:44 am

    or maybe it’s just that funky eyeball shooting off in the other direction…

  3. Jamie Purdy permalink
    April 28, 2011 7:00 am

    I’m kind of sad to see you guys leaving that place…I know it so well now it kind of feels like visiting your parents’ place after you’ve moved away. All the fun little quirks and nooks and crannies. You better make the next place is even cooler. Rick Cheeves must be present at all of our visits.

    • April 28, 2011 7:47 am

      Ahhhh. I know, I will miss many things about this place. And, as excited as I am to go to our new place, I am also a bit sad. This is the longest we or I have ever lived in one place besides our parents’ homes. But don’t worry, our new place will be cool and because it has carpet we can get Cordelia to run around like the insane dog she is. Rick Cheeves, ha! He is super busy Wang, but we will see what we can do.

Leave a Reply

