Skip to content

The Advent Season

December 4, 2011

I have to have an advent calendar every year. In years past I have settled for the chocolate filled, cheap advent calendars, even though the chocolate is gross. Last year I purchased teeny-tiny gifts for each day.  This year, I knew I needed to do something different.  I didn’t want another chocolate calendar, full of nasty ‘chocolate’  and our budget wouldn’t allow for  even the tiniest of advent gifts.  It was time to get creative.  I waited for an idea to strike and nearly just gave in by purchasing a paper advent calendar.  Then, on the night of December 1st, I had an idea.

And this is what I did.

I found some beautiful and festive paper I have been saving and a pair of scissors:

I cut the paper into strips and cut a slit into each strip of paper.

I then made a paper chain with all my strips of paper and hung it up on the wall.

The  idea is that each evening John and I rip one ring off of the chain and tear the strip in half (which is why I cut it in the first place).  Next, we each write something we love about the other person on our piece and paper and then we exchange them.  We are three days in and I can honestly say, this is the most rewarding advent calendar I have ever taken part in.  It is also the cheapest calendar I have ever had.  All you need is paper, scissors and tape.  Well, and someone to participate with you!

What about you? Do you like using an advent calendar? Share your ideas for fun and unique calendars!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. The Embellished Nest permalink
    December 4, 2011 7:37 pm

    Beautiful chains! I love the decorative paper used!

    • December 6, 2011 8:19 am

      Thank you! I have been hoarding this paper for years, so I decided I could use a little of it for this project 🙂

  2. Pete & Mom permalink
    December 6, 2011 7:52 am

    We think it’s beautiful and a wonderful idea! You’re going to be a wonderful mom. Love, Mom & Pete

  3. December 6, 2011 7:43 pm

    Wonderful idea, sweet sister!

  4. December 7, 2011 6:36 am

    That’s really a sweet idea! And the chain turned out beautiful.

  5. December 7, 2011 7:10 am

    Thank you Stacie! I was glad to finally have a use for that beautiful paper. 🙂 I look forward to meeting you some day!

Trackbacks

  1. Holiday Plans « Plough Your Own Furrow

Leave a Reply

