Skip to content

Wool Felt Crafty Christmas

December 22, 2011

I enjoy crafts, but I don’t consider myself a crafty person. Most of the time, I am just too damn lazy to make things, even if I like the idea of making something with my own two hands.  However, this holiday season I was inspired by the numerous projects I have pinned on to my Pinterest page and I decided to tackle one project.  I chose something that looked fairly simple, this tree ornament from Julia Crossland’s blog.

Considering this particular tree was built by the blogger’s young daughter, I thought, no problem, I can do that.  And, I did!  Mine did not turn out as nicely, mostly because I am impatient and did not want to trace the circles on the felt, I just eyed it.  My felt was also not quite as thick, if I made another I would make two layers in each circle of each color, instead of one.  I like my tree though, it makes me laugh when I look at it.  One of the neat things about handmade crafts is how diffrerent people can get very different results from the same instructions.

felt christmas tree ornament

felt christmas tree ornament

I chose my colors, I did some free-hand circle cutting and cut a star (slightly lame), I rolled-up and sewed the trunk and then I threaded them all together. And now, it is hanging happily on my tree.  I might have to tell people that one of my friend’s kids made it, instead of admitting  that my 32-year-old hands did, but I am a beginner, so I will give myself a little grace this time.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 22, 2011 8:43 am

    this is such a cute idea!

  2. December 23, 2011 8:00 am

    Love it, Joaners!

  3. January 2, 2012 7:37 pm

    i love this!

Leave a Reply

