Skip to content

Changes

April 20, 2012
tags: ,

As Bowie says, I must ‘turn and face’ the ‘ch-ch-changes’, and that is exactly what I will be doing over the weekend.

First, let me account for my long absence.  I have not been doing my photo-a-day project and I started to cower at the thought of writing a post and admitting my failure. More importantly, however, is the fact that  John and I decided to move. Consequently, I have been spending a good deal of my time packing, visiting with friends, planning our new space and designing the giant garden I will reign over.  And here is where the changes come in.  We decided to move back to my hometown of Yakima, 2 hours away on the other side of the Cascades.  I’ll be honest, we never thought we would be going back there.  We thought we needed to be near a city. A move back to Yakima, even with all its conveniences (family, house prices, weather), just wasn’t in the cards, and then, quite suddenly, not only was it a viable option, it sounded like an exciting idea.  Once the decision was made, I was ready to go, which is not to say it’s been all sunshine and roses. We will miss our friends terribly and I will be hounding them constantly to come visit us.  John will be heading back over the mountains regularly to play in Gold Wolf Galaxy, the musical partnership between him and my cousin Spencer (follow them on facebook and catch one of their shows whenever possible – prepare to feel the need to dance).  His trips over mean we will more easily keep our connections to the city, which makes us both feel better about the distance.

And so, tomorrow, we will be heading over to live in this house:

In addition to the space in the front yard (which I plan to utilize), there is an entire backyard for me to garden:

Prepare yourself for many before and after posts! I have plans, many, many plans.

And, if you are so inclined, you can follow me on tumblr, for more up-to-the-minute (well, day) photos.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Susan permalink
    April 20, 2012 11:31 am

    AAaaaa!!!!!! GLORIOUS!!!!!!!!!! I wish Jamie would see the benefits of living away from the city…. Perhaps we’ll find ourselves in a similar situation, where everything just seems to line up (in my favor and preference;) Haha!

  2. Stacie permalink
    April 20, 2012 11:48 am

    I am so excited for you guys. And I’m thrilled for your parents and your sister. They are absolutely glowing with excitement.

    I completely understand the mixed emotions. I was in your same spot just three short years ago. And, well, you know how it all turned out. 😉

    • April 20, 2012 12:21 pm

      We are very excited too Stacie! And you and I can discuss what we miss about the city – or maybe what we don’t miss, so that we can feel smug about our decision to leave 🙂

  3. April 20, 2012 11:48 am

    super de duper excited for you guys! we want to visit!!!!

  4. April 20, 2012 3:37 pm

    SO excited for you and John! We may be coming your way next week, can we see the house?

Leave a Reply

