Skip to content

A Garden Update

July 8, 2012

Last time I wrote to you all, back in may, I was just getting around to planting my circular veg patch.  This is how it looked just after planting around May 15th:

vegetable garden

and then I added some marigolds along the edges:

marigolds in vegetable patch

I also planted the area along our driveway in the back.  Here is what I started with:

vegetable patch

I planted peas and beans along the fench, and they all popped up in time:

This is where I put the corn and nasturtiums as well:

And now, fast forward …

The circle garden on June 10th

vegetable garden

And now we will leap again, to June 24th:

and now let’s check on the beans, peas and corn (also on June 24th)

I am very happy with how everything is going (besides a few mishaps with birds and seedlings, which will mean the cucumbers will be a bit late this year).  We had a load of cherries on our tree  and, if I could get a very tall ladder, we would have more!

May 17th –

June 24th –

I find gardening to be an incredibly rewarding experience.  I am already planning for next year, when I plan to dig up more grass and plant even more edible delights, like quinoa and tayberries.

More pictures soon, much has already changed from June 24th to now, but it is about 100 degrees outside today and I don’t plan on being out there any longer than it takes to water my garden, so no photo ops today folks!

Happy gardening everyone.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Pete & Mom permalink
    July 8, 2012 2:55 pm

    Everything looks GREAT Joani!! You did a good job. Love, Mom & Pete

  2. July 8, 2012 5:53 pm

    Beautiful garden! And I can confirm that the cherries are delicious!

    • July 8, 2012 6:13 pm

      Thanks. I am already missing those cherries. I am thinking of trying to climb the tree to get more from the top…it’s been years since I climbed a tree…could be fun or a disaster!

  3. Courtney permalink
    July 8, 2012 8:05 pm

    Looks beautiful! Can’t wait to see it live. Court

Leave a Reply

