Skip to content

les fleurs

July 15, 2012

There is more to my garden than the edible veg.  Here is a sampling of the blooms (mostly)  one might see around my garden:

sweet woodruff

sweet woodruff

peonies

peony

purple iris

siberian iris

nasturtium

nasturtium

feverfew

feverfew

red currant

currant

red rose

red rose

pink rose

electric pink rose

yellow flower

no idea what this one is – anyone?

poppies

volunteer poppies at the end of the drain spout

grape vine

prolific grape vine – and yes, there are grapes in there, many, many grapes

sedum

cordelia watching over the flowering sedum

sweet peas

sweet peas

And, in the realm of gardening, one must often cut blooms down.  It is sad, but true.  I had to trim the peonies and russian sage back, as they  were blocking the sunlight one of my little squash seedlings needed. They still look beautiful, splayed out there on the grass.  John ran over these peonies with the lawn mower later that evening and thoroughly enjoyed the explosion of petals that resulted.

peonies

peonies and russian sage

One of the things I love about a garden is how it is always changing.  New flowers budding out, leaves falling from trees, vegetables ripening.  Every day there is something to discover.  I must remember to share more of these little delights with you.  I sometimes wonder if I am the only one that cares.  Am I the only one who talks to her plants and caresses their leaves with awe and love?

Basically, plants kick ass.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 15, 2012 8:33 pm

    Lovely photos! I have the yellow plant too and can’t remember the name!

  2. mary permalink
    July 15, 2012 11:58 pm

    coreopsis?

  3. sue domis permalink
    July 16, 2012 2:58 pm

    no, no, Joani I care. Last night at 8:30 I planted a new special tree, & all day I’ve been eager to see how it is doing in its new home. Can’t wait to get home to see it again & touch its soft needles.. Sue (& I second Mary’s suggestion. It looks like some sort of Coreopsis to me also.)

    • July 16, 2012 5:42 pm

      🙂 And how is your tree? I am so glad there are others who love plants the way I do!

  4. Pete & Mom permalink
    July 19, 2012 5:27 pm

    Thanks for sharing Joani, your garden looks beautiful! PS Poor Peonies…..

Leave a Reply

