Skip to content

If You Catch A Chill

November 5, 2012
tags:

There is a nip in the air, some might even say a bite! One can find oneself chilled to the bone this time of year or overtaken by a cold or flu.  What to do, what to do?  Well, I had this dilema myself recently and I decided to try one of those old fashioned remedies, hot water, lemon & honey.  I didn’t have any lemon, but I did have a ton of dried lemon thyme from my garden and thyme sounded like the kind of herb that would be helpful, so, I gave it a go.  I boiled water, made some lemon thyme tea with some of my raw local honey. It already smelled like comfort and health.

herbal tea and honey cure

It was good, but something was still missing….and then I remembered, how could I forget? The prime ingredient?

gin herbal tea and honey remedy

Gin.  I needed gin.

(Note to reader: other spirits would have done just as well, but for me, it’s gin, it’s always gin.)

And let me tell you, it was fortifying, de-chilling and quite tasty.  The closest flavor I can compare it to is that of a tart green apple with a bit of caramel.  It wasn’t what I was expecting, but I was very happy with the result and even happier after imbibing the result.

Grab some herbs, boil some water, add honey and a dash or two of strong spirits and watch the chills just vapor away.

herbal tea and alcohol remedy

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 5, 2012 5:18 pm

    I love your kind of medicine, sister :)!

Leave a Reply

