Skip to content

Holiday Plans

November 24, 2012
holiday holly

fresh holly for the holidays

Every year I have plans for the holidays and, every year, I only actually go through with a few of my plans.  This year, though, I have planned better and I am going to do it all and enjoy it.  By the end of November my shopping will be done, then I will take some time in December to make a few handmade gifts et voila! Je suis fini!

So far, here are the plans –

*This weekend, I pull out the decor!  And I might even start the process of making my first ever Christmas Pudding (wish me luck)! And I will have to make my Advent paper chain, similar to the one I did last year, but I have some thoughts on how to change it up a bit.
*Next weekend, I want to put lights on the house.  I have never had a house – a whole house – to put lights on before.  I will admit, I am a bit intimidated, but also very excited!  Next weekend we will also get our tree. Although, where I am going to put it remains a mystery, even to me.
*December 6th is St. Nicholas Day.  Last year I made a new tradition of making this the day I donate gifts to children, in the spirit of St. Nicholas. We will also have milk and cookies and watch a heart-warming (don’t you dare call it cheesy!) movie like Miracle on 34th Street.

*On December 13th is Saint Lucia day, I will make some saffron buns and make Cordelia wear a wreath of candles on her head (as if).

*December 21st, Winter Solstice, falls on a Friday this year and we are going to have a party.  It is going to be fun and no one will care that it is the shortest day of the year!

*There will Christmas Pudding (hopefully) on Christmas Eve and family dinner and Christmas crackers.  Christmas Day will be a cozy, relaxing and fun filled day…I am still thinking of ideas. We usually have a puzzle to work on, which I find very calming amoungst all the hoopla.

*Our tree doesn’t come down until the Twelve days of Christmas are done and, even then, I am always sad to see it go.

There will also be lots of cooking, a birthday party, a company Christmas party, a live walk-through nativity and plenty of holiday themed movies and shows to watch.

Phew! I am going to be busy, but busy with things I love and people I love. What could be better?

Stay tuned for the madness.  In the meantime, check out the board I made on Pinterest to gather ideas for my Winter Solstice party.

I always love to hear how others enjoy this time of year, so please, share!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

