Skip to content

Materials: The Smallest Room in the House

April 10, 2013

Before I show you more photos of our progress, I wanted to share some of the materials we are using.

We purchased the new bathtub at home depot.  It wasn’t the cheapest one, but it wasn’t even close to the most expensive either.  I really wanted a claw foot but I didn’t have the dosh or the time to wait for the perfect used one to come on the market (4 1/2 ft, good condition, in my – very small – price range).  Just having a shiny new white tub (without a horrible surround) makes me happy.
We also found a new Toto toilet at our local Restore.  Not knowing much (nothing) about the world of toilets, I did not recognize the brand as a good one, but, thankfully, my dad did.  It’s a cute little thing, which is what I wanted for our small space.
I am not going to post pictures of these two pieces. Please, use your imagination or wait for the after shots.
In addition to the Toto toilet, we also found a very cool vintage wall-mounted sink at Restore, similar to this one:

wall-mounted bathroom sink

It is incredibly cute and will help keep an open feel in the bathroom.
For the floors I chose this 2″ matte white hex tile from Thompson Tile.  It is from the Jasper Collection:

bathroom floor 2" hexagon

We chose a glossy white subway tile for the shower surround (and someday as a wainscoting on the walls).  Both types of tile were from Thompson and were purchased locally at Standard Paint & Flooring.  We used delorean gray grout for both the floor and the walls.  It looks similar to this:

delorean gray grout

For the walls I chose Benjamin Moore’s Palladian Blue:

benjamin moore palladian blue

So there you have it! I still need to find a light fixture, pick out the glossy black paint we are using for the trim and get various accessories.  Oh! And get shelving for above the toilet.  phew.  All this choosing is difficult.  I am not a good decision maker, especially when we are talking about things that will be around for awhile.  I’m feeling pretty good about myself for making it this far.  I have woken up in the early hours wondering if I picked the right flooring or the right grout color or if I want a different color on the walls, etc.  There are endless directions one can go and it is hard to pick just one, but I am really happy with how things are turning out, so I guess I should trust myself a bit more 🙂

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 10, 2013 4:24 pm

    Oh my gosh, I’m so jealous! 🙂 these look fabulous. I think you chose really well considering all the choice. Cannot wait to see end results now x

  2. Pete & Mom permalink
    April 10, 2013 5:13 pm

    We’ve been following your progress. All your choices are beautiful. We can’t wait to see the finished project!!

  3. Auntie wendy permalink
    April 10, 2013 6:50 pm

    Ok….let’s have the reveal…….sounds.looks great!

Leave a Reply

