Skip to content

My Treasures: Collins Enid Blyton Diary 1949

July 10, 2013

I like to surround myself with little treasures. It may not be the best habit, accumulating things, but it does make me happy to look around me and see things I love. I have decided to share some of my favorite things with you through my blog. I hope you enjoy them too!

I am starting with a recent find: an Enid Blyton diary for 1949.

20130710-155036.jpg

The only writing in it is this cute little inscription, “To Debby, Wishing you a Happy Christmas and lots of luck for 1949 From Brenda”

20130710-155726.jpg
Not only is there space to write for each day of the year and common things like a list of holidays, this diary also contains Poisonous Berries and Plants, Moon Phases and much more!

20130710-160231.jpg
My favorite part may just be the endpapers though, I want to wallpaper everything with it!

20130710-160340.jpg
In addition to the very charming book, there was a letter (from a boy!) folded up inside the book.

20130710-160459.jpg
It reads:
Fairview School 78th St.
Seattle, Washington
May 29th, 1946

Hi there,
Remember me, I’m that little blond
haired boy that dipped you braids in the
inkwell. Thanks for the valentine my
little milking maid. Do you like it
down there. In your school are there
any blond haired boys as blond as
I am.
You’d never know me
now for I have one of those G.I.
hair cuts. When are you going to fly
back to your nest or come back to Seattle.
Well, so long,
Walter E Denny

And from what I could find, Walter was 10 when he wrote this cheeky little letter.
I really want to know more of the story!
How did a Diary printed in England, find its way to Seattle to end up as a gift to Debby with a letter from Walter tucked in the back. The letter came first, in 1946 and must have been treasured, or perhaps never sent? I may never know, but I plan to continue researching.

20130710-161738.jpg

6 Comments leave one →
  1. corinne permalink
    July 11, 2013 6:30 am

    Excellent, I love old diary’s and journals. The letter is very sweet, bless him. Really does make you want to know what happened.

  2. corinne permalink
    July 11, 2013 6:31 am

    …oh also agreed re the end papers, aren’t they lush?!

    • July 11, 2013 7:11 am

      It’s like a mystery! Where is Poirot when you need him? 🙂 I can see the end paper’s decorating something in Lily’s room, maybe in a paler color, so cute.

  3. sue domis permalink
    July 11, 2013 2:55 pm

    That’s a great find. Most of her illustrated books are out of print now, & her art is so precious.

    • July 11, 2013 4:25 pm

      I agree Sue, her art is what I really like. I plan to read some of her books, but haven’t yet. Apparently, there is some controversy over some of her books and new editions of them have been edited to exclude some of the slightly sexist and racist passages. v. interesting!

  4. corinne permalink
    July 13, 2013 10:33 am

    Indeed where is he?! Yes, absolutely…like you I’d want to paper the walls with it 🙂

Leave a Reply

